Pledge for the Environment

Unified by the desire for a thriving natural world and a greener, healthier society and economy, a group of leading environmental organisations, including Green Alliance, believe that, following the EU referendum, the UK should assert itself as a world leader on the environment. To help make this a reality, we are calling on all MPs to support the following Pledge for the Environment. Signatories so far are listed below.

"I believe that following the EU referendum, the UK government, working with administrations in Belfast, Cardiff and Edinburgh, must build a healthy and prosperous future for all.

This means a thriving natural world on land and at sea, clean air and water, communities connected to nature, and a sustainable economy.

For the wellbeing of my constituents, for people at home and abroad, and for future generations who will depend on a flourishing and secure planet, I will do everything in my power to:

• Establish the UK as a world leader on the environment by committing to match or exceed current environmental, wildlife and habitat protections.

• Ensure the UK leads on climate change by publishing robust low carbon investment plans and ratifying the Paris Agreement this year.

• Create a countryside richer in nature by supporting farmers and landowners to deliver environmental benefits alongside a thriving farming sector."

Signatories to the Pledge for the Environment  

Debbie Abrahams MP, Oldham East and Saddleworth, Labour

Peter Aldous MP, Waveney, Conservative

Heidi Alexander MP, Lewisham East, Labour

David Anderson MP, Blaydon, Labour

Caroline Ansell MP, Eastbourne, Conservative

Sir Henry Bellingham MP, North West Norfolk, Conservative

Richard Benyon MP, Newbury, Conservative

Clive Betts MP, Sheffield South East, Labour

Roberta Blackman-Woods MP, City of Durham, Labour

Paul Blomfield MP, Sheffield Central, Labour

Rt Hon Ben Bradshaw MP, Exeter, Labour

Rt Hon Tom Brake MP, Carshalton and Wallington, Liberal Democrats

Deidre Brock MP, Edinburgh North and Leith, SNP

Rt Hon Nick Brown MP, Newcastle upon Tyne East, Labour

Rt Hon Alistair Burt MP, North East Bedfordshire, Conservative

Dawn Butler MP, Brent Central, Labour

Dr Lisa Cameron MP, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow, SNP

Alan Campbell MP, Tynemouth, Labour

Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP, Orkney and Shetland, Liberal Democrats

Neil Carmichael MP, Stroud, Conservative

Maria Caulfield MP, Lewes, Conservative

Alex Chalk MP, Cheltenham, Conservative

Vernon Coaker MP, Gedling, Labour

Oliver Colvile MP, Plymouth Sutton and Devonport, Conservative

Rosie Cooper MP, West Lancashire, Labour

Mary Creagh MP, Wakefield, Labour

Dr Stella Creasy MP, Walthamstow, Labour Co-op

Alex Cunningham MP, Stockton North, Labour

Nic Dakin MP, Scunthorpe, Labour

Dr James Davies MP, Vale of Clwyd, Conservative

Thangam Debbonaire MP, Bristol West, Labour

Flick Drummond MP, Portsmouth South, Conservative

Maria Eagle MP, Garston and Halewood, Labour

Julie Elliott MP, Sunderland Central, Labour

Chris Elmore MP, Ogmore, Labour

Tim Farron MP, Westmorland and Lonsdale, Liberal Democrats

Rt Hon Frank Field MP, Birkenhead, Labour

Colleen Fletcher MP, Coventry North East, Labour

Rt Hon Caroline Flint MP, Don Valley, Labour

Vicky Foxcroft MP, Lewisham, Deptford, Labour

Gill Furniss MP, Sheffield Brightside & Hillsborough, Labour

Barry Gardiner MP, Brent North, Labour

Rt Hon Sir Edward Garnier QC MP, Harborough, Conservative

Stephen Gethins MP, North East Fife, SNP

Rt Hon Cheryl Gillan MP, Chesham and Amersham, Conservative

Roger Godsiff MP, Birmingham, Hall Green, Labour

Helen Goodman MP, Bishop Auckland, Labour

James Gray MP, North Wiltshire, Conservative

Kate Green MP, Stretford and Urmston, Labour

Lilian Greenwood MP, Nottingham South, Labour

Louise Haigh MP, Sheffield Heeley, Labour

Rt Hon David Hanson MP, Delyn, Labour

Helen Hayes MP, Dulwich and West Norwood, Labour

Kevin Hollinrake MP, Thirsk and Malton, Conservative

Rt Hon George Howarth MP, Knowsley, Labour

Tristram Hunt MP, Stoke-on-Trent Central, Labour

Dr Rupa Huq MP, Ealing Central and Acton, Labour

Rt Hon Sir Gerald Kaufman MP, Manchester, Gorton, Labour

Calum Kerr MP, Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk, SNP

Peter Kyle MP, Hove, Labour

Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP, North Norfolk, Liberal Democrats

Jeremy Lefroy MP, Stafford, Conservative

Chris Leslie MP, Nottingham East, Labour

Clive Lewis MP, Norwich South, Labour

Jonathan Lord MP, Woking, Conservative

Tim Loughton MP, East Worthing and Shoreham, Conservative

Caroline Lucas MP, Brighton Pavilion, Greens

Ian C. Lucas MP, Wrexham, Labour

Karen Lumley MP, Redditch, Conservative

Holly Lynch MP, Halifax, Labour

Callum McCaig MP, Aberdeen South, SNP

Kerry McCarthy MP, Bristol East, Labour

Jason McCartney MP, Colne Valley, Conservative

Alison McGovern MP, Wirral South, Labour

Catherine McKinnell MP, Newcastle North, Labour

Kit Malthouse MP, North West Hampshire, Conservative

John Mann MP, Bassetlaw, Labour

Rachael Maskell MP, York Central, Labour

Rt Hon Maria Miller MP, Basingstoke, Conservative

Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP, Sutton Coldfield, Conservative

Madeleine Moon MP, Bridgend, Labour

Penny Mordaunt MP, Portsmouth North, Conservative

Rt Hon Nicky Morgan MP, Loughborough, Conservative

Greg Mulholland MP, Leeds North West, Liberal Democrats

Ian Murray MP, Edinburgh South, Labour

Dr Andrew Murrison MP, South West Wiltshire, Conservative

Lisa Nandy MP, Wigan, Labour

Jon Nicolson MP, East Dunbartonshire, SNP

Caroline Nokes MP, Romsey and Southampton North, Conservative

Albert Owen MP, Ynys Mon, Labour

Chi Onwurah MP, Newcastle Upon Tyne Central, Labour

Teresa Pearce MP, Erith and Thamesmead, Labour

Matthew Pennycook MP, Greenwich and Woolwich, Labour

Claire Perry MP, Devizes, Conservative

Stephen Pound MP, Ealing North, Labour

Dr John Pugh MP, Southport, Liberal Democrats

Jamie Reed MP, Copeland, Labour

Steve Reed MP, Croydon North, Labour Co-op

Margaret Ritchie MP, South Down, SDLP

Liz Saville Roberts MP, Dwyfor Meirionnydd, Plaid Cymru

Barry Sheerman MP, Huddersfield, Labour Co-op

Alec Shelbrooke MP, Elmet and Rothwell, Conservative

Tommy Sheppard MP, Edinburgh East, SNP

Dennis Skinner MP, Bolsover, Labour

Ruth Smeeth MP, Stoke-on-Trent North, Labour

Rt Hon Andrew Smith MP, Oxford East, Labour

Angela Smith MP, Penistone & Stocksbridge, Labour

Cat Smith MP, Lancaster and Fleetwood, Labour

Jeff Smith MP, Manchester, Withington, Labour

Henry Smith MP, Crawley, Conservative

Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Soames MP, Mid Sussex, Conservative 

Rt Hon Anna Soubry MP, Broxtowe, Conservative

Rt Hon Dame Caroline Spelman MP, Meriden, Conservative

Julian Sturdy MP, York Outer, Conservative

Mark Tami MP, Alyn and Deeside, Labour

Gareth Thomas MP, Harrow West, Labour Co-op

Derek Thomas MP, St Ives, Conservative

Nick Thomas-Symonds MP, Torfaen, Labour

Kelly Tolhurst MP, Rochester and Strood, Conservative

Justin Tomlinson MP, North Swindon, Conservative

Anna Turley MP, Redcar, Labour

Chuka Umunna MP, Streatham, Labour

Martin Vickers MP, Cleethorpes, Conservative

Valerie Vaz MP, Walsall South, Labour

Matt Warman MP, Boston and Skegness, Conservative

Mike Weir MP, Angus, SNP

Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Southampton Test, Labour

Hywel Williams MP, Arfon, Plaid Cymru

Mark Williams MP, Ceredigion, Liberal Democrats

Mike Wood MP, Dudley South, Conservative

Nadhim Zahawi MP, Stratford upon Avon, Conservative

Daniel Zeichner MP, Cambridge, Labour

We regularly update this page as more MPs sign the pledge. 

To ask your MP to sign the pledge, please visit TCC's petition.

If you are an MP, and are interested in signing, please email:

The pledge is an initiative of: